Kazakhstan has opened 12 checkpoints on the border with Uzbekistan and Russia

Kazakhstan has opened 12 checkpoints on the border with Russia and Uzbekistan. The decision will enter into force on July 12, the press service of the Ministry of Health of Kazakhstan reports.

"The interdepartmental commission for the prevention of the spread of coronavirus infection in the territory of the Republic of Kazakhstan made a decision to cancel the ban on the operation of 12 vehicle checkpoints across the state border with the Russian Federation and the Republic of Uzbekistan," the ministry said in a statement.

Earlier, it was known that the passage of citizens and vehicles was temporarily stopped at the "Daut-ata-Tojen" checkpoint between Uzbekistan and Kazakhstan. Currently, this checkpoint is open for heavy vehicles.

These measures were implemented in connection with the decree of the President of Uzbekistan Shavkat Mirziyoyev on the introduction of a state of emergency in the Republic of Karakalpakstan from July 3 to August 2, 2022.