Russia flees the International Tourism Organization

Russia has left the International Tourism Organization. The decree was signed by Russian Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin. The government thus accepted the proposal made by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Headquartered in Madrid, the WHO is an intergovernmental body of the United Nations specializing in tourism development, with 158 member states.

A number of developed countries, such as the US, the United Kingdom, Belgium, and New Zealand, are not members of the WTO.

In April, in light of Russian-Ukrainian relations, the WTO proposed expelling Russia. Russia has announced its withdrawal from the WTO until the issue is considered within the organization.